Time Limits for Bringing a Case -P2

(Note: State laws are frequently revised from year-to-year, so it is important to speak with an attorney to understand how your state's current laws will apply in your case, especially in areas as critical as the statute of limitations. Remember also that special time-limit rules exist for injury claims against the government .)
State
Statute of Limitations

State Law

Alabama
2 years
Ala. Code Sec. 6-2-38
Arkansas
2 years
Alaska Stat. Sec. 9.10.070
Arizona
2 years
Ariz. Rev. Stat. Sec. 12-542
Arkansas
2 years
Ark. Stat. Sec. 16-114-203
California
2 years
Cal. Code of Civ. Proc. Sec. 335.1
Colorado
2 years
Colo. Rev. Stat. Sec. 13-80-102
Connecticut
2 years
Conn. Gen. State. Sec. 52-584
Delaware
2 years
Del. Code Ann. Title 10, Sec. 8119
District of Columbia (D.C.)
3 years
D.C. Code Ann. Sec. 12-301
Florida
4 years
Fla. Stat. Ann. Sec. 95.11
Georgia
2 years
Ga. Code Ann. Sec. 9-3-33
Hawaii
2 years
Haw. Rev. Stat. Sec. 657.7
Idaho
2 years
Idaho Code Sec. 5-219
Illinois
2 years
Ill. Ann. State. Ch. 5, Sec. 13-202
Indiana
2 years
Ind. Code Ann. Sec. 34-11-2-4
Iowa
2 years
Iowa Code Ann. Sec. 614.1
Kansas
2 years
Kan. Stat. Ann. Sec. 60-513
Kentucky
1 year
Ky. Rev. Stat. Sec. 413.140
Louisiana
1 year
La. Civ. Code Ann. Art. 3492
Maine
6 years
Maine Rev. Stat. Ann. Art. 14, Sec. 752
Maryland
3 years
Md. Ann. Code Sec. 5-101
Massachusetts
3 years
Mass. Gen. Laws, Art. 260, Secs. 2A, 4
Michigan
3 years
Mich. Comp Laws Sec. 600.5805(9)
Minnesota
2 years
Minn. Stat. Ann. Sec. 541.05, 541.07
Mississippi
3 years
Miss. Code Ann. Sec. 15-1-49
Missouri
5 years
Missouri Ann. Stat. Title 35, Sec. 516.120
Montana
3 years
Mont. Code Ann. Sec. 27-2-204, 27-2-207
Nebraska
4 years
Neb. Rev. Stat. Sec. 25-207
Nevada
2 years
Nev. Rev. Stat. Sec 11.190
New Hampshire
3 years
N.H. Rev. State. Sec. 508.4
New Jersey
2 years
N.J. Stat. Ann. Sec. 2A:14-2
New Mexico
3 years
N.M. Stat. Ann. Sec. 37-1-8
New York
3 years
N.Y. Civ. Prac. R. Sec. 214
North Carolina
3 years
N.C. Gen. Stat. Sec. 1-52
North Dakota
6 years (2 in wrongful death)
N.D. Cent. Code Sec. 28-01-16, 28-01-18
Ohio
2 years
Ohio Rev. Code Sec. 2305.10
Oklahoma
2 years
Okla. Stat. Ann. Title 12, Sec. 95
Oregon
2 years
Ore. Rev. Stat. Sec. 12.110
Pennsylvania
2 years
42 Pa. Con. Stat. Sec. 5524
Rhode Island
3 years
R.I. Gen. Laws Sec. 9-1-14
South Carolina
3 years
S.C. Code Ann. Sec. 15-3-530
South Dakota
3 years
S.D. Comp. Laws Ann. Sec. 15-2-14
Tennessee
1 year
Tenn. Code Ann. Sec. 28-3-104
Texas
2 years
Tex. Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code Sec. 16.003
Utah
4 years
Utah Code Ann. Sec. 78-12-28
Vermont
3 years
Vt. Stat. Ann. Title 12, Sec. 512
Virginia
2 years
Va. Code Sec. 8.01-243
Washington
3 years
Wa. Rev. Code Ann. Sec. 4.16.080
West Virginia
2 years
W. Va. Code Sec. 55-2-12
Wisconsin
3 years
Wisc. Stat. Ann. Sec. 893.54
Wyoming
4 years
Wy. Stat. Ann. Sec. 1-3-105